International experts

Eastern Europe, Russian Federation, Central Asia and Transcaucasia region is represented in the United Nations by the three experts on the rights of indigenous peoples: 


Ms. Aysa Mukabenova - Member of the UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues, nominated by Governments 

Vystuplenie-Ajsy-Mukabenovoj-na-sekcionnom-zasedanii-foto-L.CHirkovoj.jpgMs. Mukabenova has born in Kalmykia, Russia. In 1985 graduated from the Kalmyk State University. From 2002 till present works for the Ministry for Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation in the capacity of Senior Counselor of the Department for Humanitarian Affairs and Human Rights. Ms. Mukabenova is in charge of following issues: lawmaking in the sphere of interethnic relations, analytical activity on problematiс of national minorities and indigenous peoples and combating racism, xenophobia and discrimination, cooperation with ethno-cultural non-government organizations, implementation of measures on protection of culture, education and media of national minorities and indigenous peoplesю Ms. Mukabenova is a leading expert on inter-ethnic relations and the author of a number of publications on minorities and indigenous populations. She is a recognized authority among the Permanent Forum experts and maintains regular contact with Russian and international indigenous organizations. Ms. Mukavenova represents the Permanent Forum in the Steering Committee of the 2019 International Year of Indigenous Languages.


Mr. Dmitrii Kharakka-Zaitsev - Member of the UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues, nominated by Indigenous Peoples’ Organizations

DSC08482.JPGDmitrii belongs to an indigenous small-numbered people Izhora in Leningradskaya oblast, Russia. He holds PhD in Law. Working in different universities Dmitrii has got a strong academical backgownd. Currеntly works as practicing lawyer. Meanwhile Dmitrii is a Board member of Regional National-cultural Autonomy of Ingrian Finns and Board member of Community of small-numbered indigenous people Izhora “Shojkula”. Dmitrii has ample experiance in indigenous issues and interrelations with authorities at multiple levels. Since 1995 he has been engaging activities devoted to protection of national minorities and indigenous rights, indigenous life environment, support and development of indigenous peoples’ languages and culture . He also has been leading and participating in different international and regional social projects dedicated to support of indigenous peoples. The Council of the Kindred People’s Programme of Estonia decided to award the 2015 Ilmapuu (World Tree) Prize to Dmitrii Kharakka-Zaitsev for preservation and development of izhorian culture and protection of izhora traditional environment. Mr. Kharakka-Zaitsev has been elected Vice-Chair of the 17th session of the UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues.


Mr. Alexey Tsykarev - Memeber of the UN Expert Mechanism one the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

tiwkZWPY8ZQ.jpgAlexey Tsykarev’s career has primarily developed in the civil society from being a national minority activist in the Republic of Karelia to heading the International Youth Association of Finno-Ugric Peoples. Currently, Mr. Tsykarev is serving as an Expert Member at the United Nations Human Rights Council’s Expert Mechanism on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples. In 2014 – 2016 Tsykarev served as Vice-Chair and Chairperson-Rapporteur of the Expert Mechanism. Mr. Tsykarev has also worked as a translator, journalist, IR and project manager, executive director and individual entrepreneur. As practitioner, he has been involved in a number of international projects in sphere of arts, education, human rights and civic diplomacy. Additionally, he has collaborated with academic and global institutions, more specifically he has served as a consultant for the World Bank Group and as a research assistant at Erik Castren Institute of International Law and Human Rights in the University of Helsinki. International relations, especially cooperation in the High North, human and indigenous peoples' rights, and languages are his main interests. Locally, Alexey Tsykarev is working as a Chair in the Center for Support of Indigenous Peoples and Civic Diplomacy “Young Karelia” (“Nuori Karjala”). The organization is focused on preservation, promotion and development of endangered Finno-Ugric languages and culture, and national and international advocacy. Mr. Tsykarev represents the Expert Mechanism in the Steering Committee of the 2019 International Year of Indigenous Languages.

Международные эксперты

От региона Восточная Европа, Российская Федерация, Центральная Азия и Закавказье в Организации Объединенных Наций осуществляет свою деятельность три эксперта по правам коренных народов:


Айса Мукабенова - член Постоянного форума ООН по вопросам коренных народов, номинированная государствами

Vystuplenie-Ajsy-Mukabenovoj-na-sekcionnom-zasedanii-foto-L.CHirkovoj.jpgАйса Мукабенова родилась в Калмыкии, Россия. В 1985 году окончила Калмыцкий государственный университет. С 2002 года по настоящее время работает в Министерстве иностранных дел Российской Федерации в качестве старшего советника Департамента по гуманитарным вопросам и правам человека. Г-жа Мукабенова отвечает за следующие вопросы: законотворчество в сфере межэтнических отношений, аналитическая деятельность по проблематике национальных меньшинств и коренных народов и борьба с расизмом, ксенофобией и дискриминацией, сотрудничество с этнокультурными неправительственными организациями, осуществление мер по защиты культуры, образования и средств массовой информации национальных меньшинств и коренных народов. Айса Мукабенова является ведущим экспертом по межэтническим отношениям и автором ряда публикаций о меньшинствах и коренном населении. Она является признанным авторитетом среди экспертов Постоянного форума и поддерживает регулярные контакты с российскими и международными организациями коренных народов. Айса Мукабенова представляет Постоянный форум в Оргкомитете по подготовке и проведению Международного года языков коренных народов.


Дмитрий Харакка-Зайцев - член Постоянного форума ООН по вопросам коренных народов, номинированный организациями коренных народов

DSC08482.JPG

Дмитрий Харакка-Зайцев является представителем ижор - коренного малочисленного народа России. Имеет научную степень кандидата юридических наук. Дмитрий получил большой академический опыт работая в различных университетах, является автором многочисленных научных и учебно-методических работ. В настоящий момент он работает как практикующий юрист. Г-н Харакка-Зайцев является членом Совета Региональной национально-культурной автономии ингерманландских финнов и членом Совета общины коренного малочисленного народа ижор «Шойкула». У Дмитрия имеется большой опыт в вопросах коренных народов и взаимоотношений с органами власти разного уровня. С 1995 года он занимается деятельностью, направленной на защиту прав национальных меньшинств и коренных народов, окружающей среды коренных народов, поддержку и развитие их языков и культуры. Он руководит и принимает участие в различных международных и региональных социальных проектах, направленных на поддержку коренных народов. Совет Программы родственных народов Эстонии присудил Дмитрию Харакка-Зайцеву премию Ильмапуу (Древо мира) за сохранение и развитие ижорской культуры и защиту традиционной среды обитания ижор. На 17-ой сессии Постоянного форума ООН по вопросам коренных народов Дмитрий Харакка-Зайцев был избран заместителем Председателя Постоянного форума.


Алексей Цыкарев - член Экспертного механизма ООН по правам коренных народов

tiwkZWPY8ZQ.jpgОбщественная деятельность Алексея Цыкарева началась в 2006 году в молодежной общественной организации “Nuori Karjala” (“Молодая Карелия”). Спустя три года он возглавил молодежную ассоциацию финно-угорских народов (МАФУН) – международную организацию, включающую в себя более 50 молодежных объединений России, Венгрии, Финляндии и Эстонии. Филолог и переводчик финского языка по образованию, Алексей Цыкарев прошел стажировку по правам коренных народов в Управлении Верховного комиссара ООН по правам человека, а также прошел курсы в Учебном и научно-исследовательском центре ООН и Всемирной организации интеллектуальной собственности. В 2013 году Алексей Цыкарев был назначен членом Экспертного механизма ООН по правам коренных народов. В 2014 – 2016 годах он занимал должности заместителя председателя и председателя Экспертного механизма, а в 2016 году его полномочия были продлены Советом ООН по правам человека на очередной трехлетний срок. В качестве независимого эксперта ООН, Алексей Цыкарев работает над тематическими исследованиями по правами коренных народов. Алексей Цыкарев является членом Союза журналистов России, курирует международные и межрегиональне проекты в области культуры, оказывает консультативные услуги академическим и экспертным организациям, таким как Всемирный банк и Институт прав человека и международного права Хельсинкского университета. Г-н Цыкарев представляет Экспертный механизм в Оргкомитете по подготовке и проведению Международного года языков коренных народов.